The European Two-Phase Flow Group

(Honorary Chairman: Dr. Gian Piero Celata)

The European Two-Phase Flow Group was established on October 4, 1963, at the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, after the EAES Symposium on Two- Phase Flow, Steady State Burnout and Hydrodynamics Instability. Professor Becker, who at the time held the chair of Reactor Technology at the Royal Institute of Technology, was the founder. There were 41 ETPFG meetings up to 2003. Each year, the national delegate of the host country takes the chair. Until 1999 there was a limited number of seats for each country. Belgium 3 seats, Switzerland 3, Germany 9, Denmark 2, Spain 2, European JRC 3, France 9, Greece 1, Italy 9, Israel 1, Norway 2, The Netherlands 3, Portugal 2, Sweden 2, Finland 2, Slovenia 1, and UK 7. The main objectives of the meetings were always state of the art reports, synergism of academic and industrial circles and special care of the younger generation. In 1998 the Meeting, organized by University of Lubljiana in Portoroz, has been also the first European-Japanese Two-Phase Flow-Group Meeting.

All subjects in the gas-liquid domain are usually discussed at the Group Meetings:

boiling, flashing and condensation, bubbly flows, droplet flows, annular flows, horizontal and inclined flows, singularities and choked flows, instrumentation, computer codes, industrial systems (chemical engineering, environmental engineering), and nuclear reactors.

New format of ETPFG Meetings

    At the meeting in Genova, Italy, June 2004, the steering committee of the Group, chaired by Dr. G.P. Celata, decided to change the format of the Meeting so that the future meetings will be based on invitation and more focused on informal discussions of current problems in the field. Thus, basically, the meeting time will be split into two activities: Discussion Part and Conference Part.

Special Features of the ETPFGM

Discussion Part

Presentation of reviews
    Upon approval of the steering committee, the local organizers choose a suitable Main Topic for the discussion, usually that close to their own expertise. According to this Topic, few experts will be invited to serve as the Panel. Advantageously, these are recommended to be from outside of the ETPFGM community to provide an unbiased and open-minded guidance through this part.
    Several Key Speakers will present an authoritative and critical review of particular Research Fields within the Main Topic. The result should be a list of open problems and possible ways how to solve them. Also, an outlook at the future of the research in the filed should be foreshadowed. The Panel experts will chair the sessions, moderate the presentations, make links between the contributions, and highlight the main points for the forthcoming common discussion.

Common discussion
    After the review presentations, the extensive common discussion open for everybody will take place, where various relevant aspects of the subject will be discussed thoroughly. The Panel will chair and guide the discussion with the goal to produce a clear view at the topic as a whole. Eventually, the all pieces of the mosaic presented in due course should fit in a common frame. The final picture should be codified into few major points where to go and possibly how.   
    The discussion could also include 'brainstorming sessions' - assistance from a person with the skill to facilitate such sessions will be welcome.

Discussion part should be maximum one day long.

Conference Part

    Selected oral presentations followed with profound and detailed discussions, as it was basically in the past. The lectures should point out the main problems and latest achievements, as well as the probable prospectus. In this Part, wide range of topics will be addressed, according to the authors' offer.

The Meetings

Hereunder is the list of the place where the Meetings of the Group have been held since its foundation. For the last 28 years a list of papers presented at the Meetings of the Group is available. People interested in any of such papers are kindly requested to directly contact authors, as the policy of the Group is that Meetings are informal and papers cannot be distributed outside the Group by organizers.

Stockholm 1963 Eindhoven 1964 Grenoble 1965 Ispra 1966
Winfrith 1967 Oslo 1968 Karlsruhe 1969 Milan 1970
Risų 1971 Rome 1972 Brussels 1973 Harwell 1974
Haifa 1975 Erlangen 1976 Grenoble 1977 Stockholm 1978
Ispra 1979 Glasgow 1980 Eindhoven 1981 Paris 1982
Zurich 1983 Rome 1984 Southampton 1985 Munich 1986
Trondheim 1987 Brussels 1988 Paris 1989 Varese 1990
Rome 1991 Stockholm 1992 Hannover 1993 Piacenza 1994
Den Bosch 1995 Grenoble 1996 Brussels 1997 Portoroz 1998
London 1999 Karlsruhe 2000 Aveiro 2001 Stockholm 2002
Trondheim 2003 Genoa 2004 Prague 2005 Lausanne 2006
Toulouse 2007 Pisa 2008 Bled 2009 London 2010
Tel Aviv 2011 Udine 2012 pallino Lyon 2013 pallino Dresda 2014